Ditch on the left
Much of the left hand side of this hole has a ditch running along it. The stakes for this ditch are red. It is a ‘lateral water hazard’. The rules for playing from it are the same as those for yellow stakes except:
Occasionally players opt to play the ball when it is in this hazard. If you choose to do this, be aware of the rules on grounding your club in a hazard.
Grounding your club in a hazard
Note; you cannot touch or move loose impediments, such as leaves, in the hazard with either your hand or club. This is a two stroke penalty or loss of hole in match play. You can walk on loose impediments as you enter the hazard and stand on them when you take up your normal stance (see rule 13.4c).